Missouri Massage License
Updated for 2023
Massage therapists practicing in Missouri must be licensed by the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage before practicing in this state. The board began licensing massage therapists in Missouri in 1998. It works to establish laws and rules related to the massage therapy profession, and it creates and maintains licensing and practice standards.
To become a Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT) in the state of Missouri, applicants must first complete the requirements as described on the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage website. These requirements include education, examination, and other qualifications. We’ve provided a summary of these requirements below for a quick reference.
Research by ABMP in 2016 estimated that there was about 4,640 massage therapists in Missouri (1 therapist per every 1,311 people in the state).
Missouri Quick Look
Massage License Required? Yes
Education hours: 500
Exam: MBLEx or NCBTMB
CEUs / Renewals: 12 CEUs/2yrs
Massage Education Requirements in Missouri
Applicants for a Missouri massage license are required to complete a minimum of 500 clock hours of supervised classroom and clinical instruction from an accredited school. The curriculum must (at a minimum) include:
- 300 hours of massage theory and practice techniques
- 100 hours of human anatomy and physiology
- 50 hours of business practice, professional ethics, hygiene, and Missouri state law
- 50 hours of ancillary therapies, including but not limited to CPR and first aid
The Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage has approved the following exams:
- Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB)
- NCETMB or NCETM credentialing exam by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB). This exam is no longer being offered.
- Asian Bodywork Therapy (ABT) Examination administered by NCCAOM
- American Medical Massage Association National Board Certification Examination (AMMA NBCE)
If you have not yet taken the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam and are planning to seek licensure in Missouri, simply select this state when registering for the MBLEx, and they will send your scores to the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage when you pass. Check out our About the MBLEx page to see how to apply and schedule your exam.
Additional License Requirements
Getting a Missouri massage therapy license has additional requirements. The applicant must also:
- Submit to a criminal background check with fingerprinting, conducted by the Missouri State Highway Patrol or its approved vendors
- Include verification of massage therapy licenses from any other state you have been licensed (if applicable)
Missouri massage license applicants may apply by examination or through reciprocity. If an applicant holds a valid massage license in good standing in another state with substantially equivalent licensing requirements, the applicant may use the reciprocity method. Their application form can be used for either application method.
Massage therapy students may apply for a student license to permit them to work on clients while in school to gain practical experience. Students may not receive any compensation from the school or client for any massage therapy service.
Massage License Fees
Here is a summary of the fees charged by the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage.
- Nonrefundable application fee: $125
- Renewal fee: $100
- Provisional license application fee: $75
- Provisional license renewal fee: $50
- Business license fee: $50
All massage therapy licenses expire every 2 years. All renewals must now be done using a paper form (the online renewal closed on January 31, 2017). Licensees must call or email the board and request a renewal / reinstatement form. The following must be done to complete your renewal application:
- Request and complete the renewal / reinstatement form
- Complete 12 Continuing education credits per renewal cycle
- Send renewal fee of $100
Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage
Note: The information on this website is for informational purposes. Please inquire directly with your state and local boards to verify requirements and regulations, as this may have changed. Contact information is listed above.